

JOINT STATEMENT BY NSW MPS TO THE FEDERAL PARLIAMENT ON AFGHANISTAN <u>REFUGEE INTAKE</u>

The plight of many minority groups is no longer assured with the Taliban again taking control of Afghanistan. Of equal importance, the human rights of women and girls is under direct threat, with increasing evidence that they face exclusion from education and employment, sexual slavery, violence and death at the hands of the Taliban.

There is an urgent need to ensure a co-ordinated international response both for those at great risk who remain within Afghanistan, alongside those who have fled in the face of the Taliban and are now displaced. Many Afghanis within Australia, whose families remained behind, are desperate to be reunited with loved ones who now face great risks in their current situation.

Australia has a proud history of providing safe haven, including accommodating 170,000 displaced persons after World War II, resettling 80,000 Vietnamese in the decade following the end of the Vietnam War and 12,000 displaced persons from the Syrian and Iraq conflicts.

In a joint statement, alongside 96 other nations, Australia committed to continue issuing travel documentation to designated Afghans and expressed a clear expectation of and commitment from the Taliban of their safe passage.

Whilst Australia's announcement of a willingness to receive 3,000 Afghan refugee is welcome, it falls well short of the commitments made by other coalition partners in Afghanistan. Canada and Britain, for instance, have each committed to resettle 20,000 refugees over the coming years. We call on the Federal Government to follow the example of these nations and increase our refugee intake, to provide a future to those fleeing the perils of a Taliban controlled Afghanistan and to honour the legacy of those brave Australian ADF personnel, and the Afghani allies, who fought in Australia's longest conflict, the Afghan War.

Jenny Aitchison MP Member for Maitland

S. Gd.

Stephen Bali MP Member for Blacktown

14CB-.

Clayton Barr MP Member for Cessnock

byd

Abigail Boyd MLC

Mark Buttigeig MLC

Yasmin Catley MP Member for Swansea

Tim Crakanthorp MP Member for Newcastle

Sophie Cotsis MP Member for Canterbury

allene Cusan

Catherine Cusak MLC

Anthony D'Adam MLC

Ann

Helen Dalton MP Member for Murray

Tanya Davies MP Member for Mulgoa

Houd M

Jihad Dib MP Member for Lakemba

Josh Doyo

Trish Doyle MP Member for Blue Mountains

den

Wes Fang MLC

Cate Faehrmann MLC

Julia Finn MP Member for Granville

John Graham MLC

Janlef

Alex Greenwich MP Member for Sydney

James Griffin MP Member for Manly

JARL S

David Harris MP Member for Wyong

Jodie Harrison MP Member for Charlestown

payn.

Jo Haylen MP Member for Summer Hill

The Apenia

Ron Hoenig MP Member for Heffron

Soma Homer

Sonia Hornery MP Member for Wallsend

constrainter

Courtney Houssos MLC

Emma Hurst MLC

6

Rose Jackson MLC

Steve Kamper MP Member for Rockdale

Trevor Khan MLC

Nick Lalich MP Member for Cabramatta

Jenny Leong MP Member for Newtown

Bullinch

Paul Lynch MP Member for Liverpool

me Mallad

Shayne Mallard MLC

-ph Mederato

Hugh McDermott MP Member for Prospect

Joai Mckay

Jodi McKay MP Member for Strathfield

David Mehan MP Member for The Entrance

Shaoquett Moselmane MLC

fred Nile

Rev Fred Nile MLC

Manjo O'Neill

Marjorie O'Neill MP Member for Coogee

Kyon Pah

Ryan Park MP Member for Keira

asker

Jamie Parker MP Member for Balmain

Peter Prim

Peter Primrose MLC

J. a. Suppini

Janelle Saffin MP Member for Lismore

Tant Surry

Paul Scully MP Member for Wollongong

Adam Searle MLC

Penny Sharpe MLC

David Shoebridge MLC

Tamara Smith MP Member for Ballina

resul

Liesl Tesch MP Member for Gosford

Jenun duachaya.

Damien Tudehope MLC

Michael Ita the

Mick Veitch MLC

Lynda Voltz MP Member for Auburn

Wegt arren.

Greg Warren MP Member for Campbelltown

Aleiting

Kate Washington MP Member for Port Stephens

Natalie Ward MLC

ada

Anna Watson MP Member for Shellharbour